» » Benjamin Skepper - eika 詠歌
Benjamin Skepper - eika 詠歌 mp3

Benjamin Skepper - eika 詠歌 mp3

Benjamin Skepper
eika 詠歌
23 Sep 2009
1812 mb


1marionette 3:18
2aria sinai2:15
3sori 2:39


contrapuntal records 001

First release by Tokyo based production house contrapuntal , "eika 詠歌" is Benjamin Skepper’s debut solo release composed and recorded in Tokyo. The album is a culmination of Skepper’s exploration of “looping” and “sampling” techniques drawn from his experience with techno and hip-hop production and performance collaborations.

Conceived for violoncello, the layering of violoncello melodies or samples, are multi-tracked to create a symphonic and orchestral sound.

Released on 12” vinyl record, the music inspired a inter-disciplinary collaboration between notorious Japanese graphic art director Ito Keiji of Unidentified Flying Graphics (UFG), couturier Michiko Suzuki (Yohji Yamamoto), milliner Rachel Skepper, photographer David Stetson (Vogue UK), and cameraman Hisanori Furukawa (Lighting director for cult film director Akira Kurosawa). This resulted in an exhibition “requiem d’une marionette”, presented at The House of Tomorrow by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in Tokyo. The exhibition opening marked the album release date.

The artwork collaboration with graphic art director Ito Keiji also represents an ongoing collaboration between the artists.

released 23 September 2009

Composed and Performed by Benjamin Skepper
Co Produced by Benjamin Skepper and Mai Fujinoya
Recorded by Yamp Kolt at Kupuland Studios Shinjuku Tokyo
Mastered by Yamp Kolt at Kupuland Studios Shinjuku Tokyo
Art direction and Artwork by Keiji Ito (UFG)
Design by Takamitsu Hatta (UFG)

℗ & © 2009 contrapuntal and Benjmain Skepper
All rights reserved. Unauthorized copying, reproduction, hiring, lending, public performance and broadcasting prohibited.
contrapuntal 001

Special thanks to my amazing family for believing in my creative vision, Jeanette May (Pompadour Liberte) and all the animals in Taradale, Colin, Jessi (a.k.a. pinky), Rachel Norie, Gabriela, Michiko Suzuki, Yohji Yamamoto, Takashi Ashizawa, Mai Fujinoya, Keiji Ito, Takamitsu Hatta, Olivia Lufkin, the analogue tribe, all my wonderful friends around the world, and my obaachan, Akie Igawa, to whom this album is dedicated.